Turning Asocial

This is an extension of a post that one of my blogger friends who blogs at Capturing Sunshine posted on one of her accounts, about how she was turning asocial day by day. At that time, I shrugged it aside, saying, “Nah, that’s too much…”, but now, I am singing a different tune. Ever since I began my PG college life, I have been turning asocial. I have been beginning to hate every second I spend in the hostel, and quite often I rush home every now and then.

The reason is the stark realization that in this world, every one is out for themselves. No one will be there for you when you fall, but they will always come to you when they need something. This was very different from what I was used to. In my UG studies, everyone was very supportive, everyone was genuine. But not anymore. Everyone will coat their words and actions with sugar and honey when they need something from you, and if you need something from them, they won’t budge. Everyone is two faced- Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde is no fiction, it is very much the reality. A reality that we see in everyday life.

I am not saying I don’t have friends, I do. Some people who face the same issues as I do. Because we were not brought up to play games with people. With us, what you see is what you get. We don’t pretend to be someone we are not. But now I feel I should change that. In this dog eat dog world, you can’t afford to be a puppy. You’ve got to be a wolf. Not to tear others apart, but to protect myself from getting torn apart.

So people, here’s a a question I have to ask you guys…

Do you feel the say way??? Did you ever face something like this???

Do reply in comments!!!

Leave a Reply

