My New Year’s Resolution : Not Making Any

The new year has dawned and a tradition has evolved with it as well. No, I’m not talking about staying up all night and partying… I am talking about New Year’s Resolutions. People around the world resolve to change one of their bad habits or behaviour starting from the first of January.

I promise to limit my drinking habit.

I promise to study harder.

I promise to workout more. I promise to behave well. I promise I’ll make a New Year’s Resolution every year…The list goes on and on…

And here’s my addition to the list : I promise I won’t make any New Year’s Resolutions this year, or any other year…:-)

Ohhhh…lazy guy, you say? He doesn’t want to better himself?? Let me clear the air…

I have made resolutions in the past. In fact I thought I was making a resolution to start a revolution in my life, but sadly, every single time, I failed. I’ll go on for a couple of days, and before January is over, there goes my resolution. And once it’s broken, man, there’s nothing you can do about it. You have to wait for next year to start over again. Oh well…

Here’s the deal. New Year is just a date. It’s just something someone came up with. And I’m not against the concept. We need days like these, we need moments like these to enjoy in the course of our monotonous life. But we can make a resolution every day. We can do it whenever we want and if we somehow end up breaking it, start over afresh from the next day instead of waiting for the next year. It’s just so much better…

So I’m not making any resolutions this year. Nor next year. When I need to change something, I’ll make a resolution irrespective of the month, day or date. And that’s it…

So what are your resolutions????

Leave a Reply

