Baptism by Fire

A fire’s waiting,

Right up, in sight.

Crackling with spite

Devouring my might.

I see it, still,

Right up ahead.

fear creeps up,

And blinds my head.

Not able to move,

Nor see, nor think.

The fire’s too near,

And I near the brink.

What can I do?

Just run and flee.

Or stand and fight,

It’s up to me.

They shout to leave,

I stay and ponder.

I am ready to fight,

And they watch in wonder.

Run, they say,

For win, you won’t.

Burn up in flames,

If you listen don’t.

I stand and say,

I’m ready for strife.

But run I won’t,

Just not this life.

I may get burned,

I may lose my life.

Not sure of a win,

But that is life.

They said to me,

Why fight, why fight?

Why take a chance,

When there’s always flight?

I look them, and say,

I have no guilt.

That tested by fire,

The sun can’t wilt.

I’d rather be singed

And come out strong.

Than run away,

And turn out all wrong.

One thought on “Baptism by Fire

Leave a Reply

